International Safety Awards 2020

Our International Safety Awards 2020 scheme is now open to organisations of any sector or size. The Awards are open to teams of any size.

The winners for the 2020 International Safety Awards have now been announced. We'd like to congratulate all of the winners for their continued commitment to excellent health, safety and wellbeing standards. 

View the winners list 

View the 2020 Chief Adjudicator's Report 

What are the International Safety Awards?

The International Safety Awards are health and safety’s most prestigious award scheme. They recognise organisations that have demonstrated commitment to occupational health, safety and wellbeing, regardless of their size or the sector they operate within.

Why should I apply?

It takes time, effort and hard work to improve health and safety culture within an organisation. Not only do the International Safety Awards give you the recognition you deserve, they also help:

  • Motivate your team
  • Prove your success both within your organisation and to others in the industry
  • Benchmark yourself against other leaders in the field
  • Win new clients, partners and business opportunities
  • Showcase your commitment to excellent health and safety standards.

How can I apply?

Award categories

International Safety Award

Recognises commitment to exemplary health, safety and wellbeing management. Awards are site specific. Successful applicants will be awarded Distinction, Merit or Pass grades based on their score. There is no quota of grades to be awarded. All applicants are invited to celebrate their success, and winners can collect their certificates and trophies at the 2020 awards ceremony and gala dinner.

Additional award categories

Sector Awards

Recognise overall 'best in class' submissions to the International Safety Awards, by industry sector. This is a great way to stand out amongst peers and encourages best practice.

Sector Award categories are:

  • Manufacturing
  • Oil, gas, mining and quarrying
  • Power and utilities
  • Construction and property activities
  • Wholesale and retail services
  • Transportation, distribution and storage
  • Leisure, sports clubs, hospitality and catering
  • Education
  • Health and social care
  • Not for profit
  • Financial, IT, legal, scientific and technical services, media
  • Local government, defence and public services
  • Onshore major hazard.

Best in Country Award

All International Safety Award applicants are entered into this award, provided there is a significant number of applications from the same country. The highest scoring and best overall application will be awarded.

Shortlists will be released prior to the Gala Dinner and winners will be announced on the night.

International Safety Awards applicants can enter the following two awards. Questions have been provided within your application form. Only one application per category, per site/business unit will be accepted.

Wellbeing Initiative Award - sponsored by Vitality Healthy Workplace

Recognises those organisations who can demonstrate a proactive and effective approach to improving employee wellbeing, through a new or unique objective with a clear and measurable outcome, over and above the organisation's routine work. The winner will be announced at the Gala Dinner.

Team of the Year Award

Recognises the outstanding achievements resulting in a significant improvement to health, safety or wellbeing, from a collaboration of stakeholders, which may include members of their organisation, suppliers, subcontractors and/or the wider community.

Free to enter awards - three new for 2020

For the 2020 scheme we have introduced three new Free to Enter awards designed to reward those who have run campaigns, lead a strategic vision or transformed any aspect of health, safety and wellbeing through the use of information.

Extended deadline

We will now be taking applications for our Free to Enter awards until 13 March 2020. Find out more and apply below. 

The James Tye Award

NEW FOR 2020

Recognises an organisation or team of individuals who have developed and run a campaign in 2019 that has made a significant impact on health, safety or wellbeing in the workplace. 

Apply now

Health and Safety Transformation Award - Sponsored by Croner-i

NEW FOR 2020

This category is for organisations that have changed or transformed any aspect of health, safety or wellbeing to a significant extent through the use of information. Applicants will be asked to describe the transformation, how it was planned, what information was used to help achieve the transformation and what positive impact it has had on the organisation. 

Apply now

CEO Award

NEW FOR 2020

Rewarding leadership and strategic vision of a CEO (Managing Director, President, Chairmen or Director General) who has made a vital contribution to the health and safety of their business and to the wider society during 2019 by taking an active role in aligning and championing their organisation's health, safety and wellbeing interests with their internal and external stakeholders. 

Apply now

Young Champion Award

NEW FOR 2020

The Young Health and Safety Champion of the Year Award should be an employee aged 16-24 who has played a significant role to ensure the health, safety and welfare of their colleagues and others. 

Apply now

Key dates

31 August 2019 Early bird deadline
7 February 2020 Application submission deadline
10 March 2020 Results emailed to applicants
10 March 2020 Winners list published
17 March 2020 Result enquiry deadline
8 May 2020 Gala Dinner booking deadline
29 May 2020 Gala Dinner


Sponsored by

Road workers in London

Additional support and videos


We'll shortly be announcing our International Safety Awards webinar where you'll get the chance to ask experts on the best way to craft your application. Details of the webinar will be announced in due course.