Skip to content

What are the International Safety Awards?

The International Safety Award recognises an organisation’s commitment to excellent standards of health, safety and wellbeing management at a specific site or business unit. Last year more than 975 applications were received for the International Safety Award; with 79% of them successfully achieving a Distinction, Merit or Pass grade. These winners included organisations of all sizes, types and sectors, and businesses in the UK, Africa, Asia, India, mainland Europe and the Middle East. 

International Safety Awards 2024

Why should I apply?

It takes commitment, hard work and dedication to improve the health, safety and wellbeing culture within an organisation. The International Safety Awards are recognised globally and give you the recognition you deserve, they can also help you to:

  • Motivate your team
  • Prove your success both within your organisation and to others in the industry
  • Benchmark yourself against other leaders in the field
  • Win new clients, partners and business opportunities
  • Showcase your commitment to excellent health, safety and wellbeing standards.


Standard pricing


₹ 46,500


₹ 60,500


Key dates

Launch date 21 September 2023
ISA Application Webinar 30 October 2023
Early bird pricing deadline 03 November 2023
ISA Application Webinar 11 January 2024
ISA Application submission deadline on Learning Zone 09 February 2024
Free to enter awards submission deadline 01 March 2024
ISA results available to all 11 March 2024
Winners list published 14 March 2024
Result enquiry deadline 22 March 2024
Awards Dinner India 30 May 2024

How can I apply?

Applications are now closed.


Award categories

International Safety Award

Recognises commitment to exemplary health, safety and wellbeing management. Award submissions are site specific. Successful applicants will be awarded Distinction, Merit or Pass grades based on their final score. There is no quota of grades to be awarded. All applicants are invited to celebrate their success at the International Safety Awards Dinner 2024 in India.

Auto-entry awards

Sector Awards

These awards recognise overall ‘best in class’ submissions to the International Safety Awards by industry sector. 

Sector Award categories are:   

  • Art and culture – museums, galleries 
  • Construction and property activities  
  • Consultancy and advisory - NEW
  • Education 
  • Financial, IT, legal, scientific and technical services, media  
  • Health and social care  
  • Leisure, sports clubs, hospitality and catering 
  • Local government, defence and public services  
  • Manufacturing  
  • Not for profit  
  • Oil, gas, mining and quarrying 
  • Onshore major hazard 
  • Power and utilities 
  • Transportation, distribution and storage  
  • Wholesale and retail services

Best in Country Award

All International Safety Award applicants are entered into this award, provided there is a significant number of applications from the same country at distinction level. The highest scoring and best overall application will be awarded. 

Best in Zone Award

All International Safety Award applicants from India are entered into this award, provided there is a significant number of applications from the same geographic zone at distinction level. The highest scoring and best overall application will be awarded Best in Zone for North, South, East and West states in India. 

Chief Adjudicator's Award

The Chief Adjudicator's Award is awarded to the International Safety Awards application that achieves the highest score each year. This award does not require a submission and the winner/s will receive a certificate of their achievement.

Free to Enter Award Categories

For 2024, we are running a total of seven free to enter awards, these awards are open to all. 

You do not have to purchase an International Safety Award application to enter any of the following free to enter awards. 

The CEO Award

Rewarding leadership and strategic vision of CEOs who have made a vital contribution to health and safety of their business and to the wider society during 2023.  This award recognises how an individual CEO takes an active role in aligning and championing their organisation's health, safety and wellbeing interests with their internal and external stakeholders. 

Applications closed.

Health Safety and Wellbeing Ambassador of the Year Award

The Health, Safety and Wellbeing Ambassador of the year Award recognises an employee who, in your opinion, has played a significant role to ensure the health, safety and wellbeing of colleagues and others. The nominee's primary role does not need to be health and safety.

Applications closed.

Team of the Year Award

The Team of the Year Award recognises the outstanding achievements resulting in a significant improvement to health, safety or wellbeing from a collaboration of stakeholders which may include members of the organisation, suppliers, subcontractors and/or the wider community.

Applications closed.

The James Tye Award

Recognition for an organisation or a team of individuals who have developed and run a campaign in 2023 that has made a significant impact on the health, safety or wellbeing in the workplace.

Applications closed.

Wellbeing Initiative Award Powered by Being Well Together

This award recognises and rewards those organisations that have demonstrated a proactive and effective approach to improving employee wellbeing.

Applications closed.

Health and Safety Transformation Award - Sponsored by Croner-i

This category is for organisations that have significantly changed or transformed any aspect of health, safety or wellbeing to a significant extent through the use of information. Applicants will be asked to describe the transformation, how it was planned, what information was used to help achieve the transformation and what positive impact it has had on the organisation.

Applications closed.

Seize the Opportunity Award

This award recognises organisations that have gone the extra mile to seize health, safety or wellbeing opportunities resulting from a crisis. In being nominated for this award, the organisation is agreeing to their name and photograph being used by the British Safety Council in various media channels to recognise their achievement.

Applications closed.